City Government Community  Visitors
Online ServicesLatest NewsCommunity Center Photos Home Chamber of Commerce Develop Iosco Economic Toolkit



Font: + -

Treasurer’s Office

The Treasurer’s Office is responsible for the collection of all monies owed to the City, the investment of surplus funds and for the collection of city, county, school and special district property taxes and the State Education Tax. 

Millage rates are determined by the various governmental units.  The East Tawas City Council establishes the millage rate for the City as part of the budgeting process, usually at the first meeting of June.  During the summer tax collection, taxes are collected for the City of East Tawas, Tawas Area Schools, the general operating millage for Iosco County and the State Education Tax.  During the winter collection, taxes are collected for the Intermediate School District and Iosco County special voted millages.  The special voted millages include Ambulance, Medical Care Facility, the Iosco-Arenac District Library, Iosco County Transit, Animal Control and the Iosco Commission on Aging. Regardless of the fiscal year of the taxing unit, both the summer and winter tax bills cover the calendar year for which they were levied.

Tax bills for the summer tax collection are mailed by July 1 and are due by September 15.   After September 15 interest is added to all unpaid taxes at the rate of 1% per month or fraction thereof. Tax bills for the winter tax collection are mailed by December 1 and are due by February 14. After February 14 a 3% penalty is added to all unpaid summer or winter taxes.  Unpaid summer or winter taxes can only be paid to the East Tawas City Treasurer until February 28.  On March 1, all unpaid taxes from the previous tax year are returned as delinquent to the Iosco County Treasurer who will continue to bill delinquent taxes including a collection fee and interest.

Since the adoption of Proposal A in 1994, properties have two values: the assessed value (AV) and the taxable value (TV).  Taxes are calculated by multiplying the TV by the millage rate.  Click here for a property tax calculator.  Proposal A also established the Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) that entitles home owners who live in their home an exemption from paying the 18 mills of school operating millage.  Click here for additional information concerning the Principal Residence Exemption.

Qualified taxpayers may defer payment of summer taxes until the winter tax collection by completing a deferment form.  Information from the State of Michigan Web site on deferring taxes can be found here.

Certain taxpayers may also be eligible for a poverty exemption which may be granted by the Board of Review.  The City’s Poverty Exemption Standards detail the eligibility requirements.  A Poverty Exemption Application must be completed and submitted with proper documentation to the City Assessor on an annual basis.

The State of Michigan offers help to eligible taxpayers in the form of the Property Tax Credit, Home Heating Credit, and Military Tax Relief.



Payment Options:    (Please make all checks payable to the City of East Tawas)

Payment by mail:

City of East Tawas
PO Box 672
East Tawas, Michigan  48730-0672

Payment in person:

East Tawas City Hall
760 Newman Street

8:00 am - 5:00 pm, Monday - Friday

There is a drop box available for checks or money orders, located in the north parking lot.

ACH (Automated) Payment:

East Tawas property taxpayers have the opportunity to have their tax payments directly deducted from their checking or savings accounts.  We have teamed up with Huron Community Bank to add this convenience to your  payment options. (You do not need to have an account at Huron Community Bank to participate in this program.) If you’re interested in this free service, please complete this form and either mail it to or drop it off at City Hall with a voided check.  Contact City Hall for more details at (989) 362-6161 or via email.


The City of East Tawas accepts credit/debit card payments for utility bills, tax bills and miscellaneous items at City Hall, over the phone and online through Graphite Municipalities.  You still have the ability to view your utility bill and tax information through the online services tab on our website, but will have to use the online payment link to pay your bill. If you wish to pay your bill online, please click here, on the Graphite Municipalities logo on our main page or the Online Services page, or call 989-362-6161 during our office hours Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and one of our staff would be glad to take your payment over the phone.  



Julie Potts


© 2010, City of East Tawas. All rights reserved.