City Government Community  Visitors
Online ServicesLatest NewsCommunity Center Photos Home Chamber of Commerce Develop Iosco Economic Toolkit



Font: + -

Tawas Police Authority

Dial 911 for all emergencies

Contact Information

810 West Westover Street

East Tawas, Michigan, 48730

(989) 362-7718 (non-emergency phone)

(989) 362-5140 (fax)


For after hours immediate non-emergency assistance, please call Central Dispatch at (989) 362-1430


Authority Board members include the City Manager of East Tawas, the City Manager of Tawas City and one Council member from each city.  Regular meetings are held at 8:30 a.m. on the first Monday of each month.  Meetings are held at the Tawas City City Hall, 550 W. Lake Street.

History of East Tawas Police Department and Tawas Police Authority

The first Chief of Police was appointed on May 6, 1929. His name was John Moran and he served until May 1935. The appointment in 1929 was as Chief of Police and Street Commissioner. (In May 1928, Mr. Moran had been appointed as Marshall and Street Commissioner.) The East Tawas Police Department provided police protection to the City of Tawas City under a joint agreement from February 1986 until the Tawas Police Authority was formed in 1991 to provide police protection to both East Tawas and Tawas City.

Past Chiefs of Police

May 1929 - May 1935     Chief John Moran

May 1935 - May 1939     Chief William Stonehouse

May 1939 - May 1947     Chief Arthur Dillon

May 1947 - May 1949     Chief Fred Colburn

May 1949 - May 1951     Chief Ed Lickfeldt

May 1951 - April 1963     Chief Harry Pelton

May 1963 - April 1983     Chief Donald Docking

April 1983 - June 1983     Acting Chief David Foley

June 1983 - June 1986     Chief David Foley

June 1986 - January 1989     Chief William Hyatt

January 1989 - November 2008     Chief Dennis Frank

November 2008 - March 2009     Acting Chief Steve Parent

March 2009 - present     Chief Mark Ferguson

Police Department Photo Gallery

Tawas Police Authority

Tawas Police Authority

Chief Ferguson

Chief Ferguson









Mark Ferguson
Police Chief


(989) 362-7718 (non-emergency)


© 2010, City of East Tawas. All rights reserved.